Last Name


Please Note: ABPM log-in is only intended for current ABPM diplomates and candidates. If you are interested in Addiction Medicine certification, please click here to sign up for email updates.


The American Board of Preventive Medicine

Maintenance of Certification


ABPM sends diplomates periodic updates about the MOC program via email.
Please maintain current contact information by logging into your record on the ABPM website www.theabpm.org.

What is Maintenance of Certification (MOC)?

MOC is the board certification process for assessment of continuing competencies of physicians. The ABPM MOC program continues to evolve to meet American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) requirements. Click here for schedule to complete MOC requirements.

The ABPM MOC program consists of four components:

Part 1: Professional Standing
  • Hold an active, valid and unrestricted medical license in all States, US territories, or Canadian Provinces in which you are licensed to practice medicine.

Part 2: Lifelong Learning and Self-assessment (LLSA)
  • Earn a total of 250 Continuing Medical Education (CME) credits over the ten-year span of certification, including a minimum of 100 ABPM-approved LLSA credits. A complete list of approved LLSA activities is available on the ABPM website at https://www.theabpm.org/moc/modules.cfm.
    • If you maintain certification with another ABMS specialty board, 150 hours of CME earned to meet MOC Part 2 requirements of the other ABMS specialty board may be applied to ABPM requirements, so that only the 100 LLSA/MOC credits need to be completed. More information is available on the ABPM website at http://www.theabpm.org/public/DocA_MOC_Reciprocal_Credit7-13-15.pdf
  • Complete a patient safety course in the first two years of each certification cycle.
    • Diplomates who have been certified by ABPM through the Residency Pathway do not need to complete an additional patient safety course during their first ten-year certification cycle if they completed residency training in 2012 and later.

Part 3: Assessment of Cognitive Expertise
  • Take the cognitive exam in the last three years of your certification cycle. You may re-take the test if necessary to pass it prior to the expiration of your certificate.

Part 4: Assessment of Practice Performance
  • Complete two practice assessment and improvement activities during each ten-year certification cycle. One assessment is to be completed in the first five years of the cycle and a second in the last five years. Diplomates may complete the Assessment of Practice Performance through any of the three Preventive Medicine specialty societies (ACOEM, ACPM, AsMA).
  • Clinical Informatics: Complete one assessment every three years during each ten-year certification cycle for a total of three practice assessment and improvement activities.

    MOC Requirements by Year of Recertification

    AM, OM, and PHGPM
    CI Only
    UHM Only